Tags

, , , , , ,

On this Feast of St Bibiana

So this is my fifth attempt at the Catholic Women’s Almanac through Suscipio.  I was skeptical about these at first, but somehow I find these little Monday posts help me organize my mind a little more…

Thanking God for…

  • Great family (and a great Thanksgiving dinner with them).
  • Good friends that keep me sane.
  • My Parish family
  • My sweet pup (as neurotic as she is) who reminds me about unconditional love
  • Blessings of health, employment and that even though I still have worries, most everything is going well now.

Looking out my window…

  • It’s beautiful out – over 50 degrees!  Wishing I could be out doing yard work!

I am praying…

  • For God’s will do be done in all the changes swirling around me.  I actually like change in many cases, but some of what’s going on is actually complicating things, not simplifying, so I’m not so accepting of it at present.
  • For those kiddos on my prayer list
  • All those who ask for prayer, and for all those that need it but won’t or can’t ask.
  • The Holy Souls in Purgatory
  • The Mychal Judge prayer:
    Lord, take me where You want me to go.
    Let me meet who You want me to meet.
    Tell me what You want me to say
    And keep me out of YOUR way.

I am pondering…

The season of Advent.  I always have a difficult time with it.  Probably since I know too many people who start SOOOOOOOO early with Christmas stuff that I never seem to feel like I get the time to let the meaning of Advent sink in.

I’m also still on this thing about joy.  Reading more and more about how many people are brought to the Church by a sense of joy and peace they see in others. How many saints had really good humorous sides, and how even though we need to be serious about our faith, it does not mean there is no joy in it, in fact, there should be great joy in the promises and hope we have been given by God!

I am reading…
Between Heaven and Mirth by James Martin, SJ.

I am creating…
I am in the process of fixing up our star for the parish nativity pageant, fixing up some old projects and trying to get prepared for making some Christmas gifts – if I could just figure out what to do!

I’m learning…
That I am not alone, although very few will stand up and say so.

In the kitchen…
What can I say – this is not one of my gifts…

I’m Listening to…
Whatever is on tv…

I am looking forward to…
I don’t know… things are moving so fast that I’m just trying to get caught up and am having a hard time trying to look forward.  But if pressed, I guess I would say a trip away right after Christmas…  just praying it goes well.

Captured…
I haven’t taken any photos this week that are worth posting….  sorry!

